Local 21 Endorsements for June 7 Primary Election

Vote June 7!

Local 21 Recommendations for the June 7, 2016 Election

Who we elect to local public office and which ballot measures win or lose has a direct impact on our jobs and our ability to provide the public with the top-quality services.  Below you will find the official endorsement recommendations of Professional and Technical Engineers Local 21. The endorsement process is democratic, nonpartisan and member-driven.

You can find additional endorsements at the California Labor Federation, San Francisco, South Bay, Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin and San Mateo and other local Labor Council web sites.

Contra Costa County

Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors

Re-elect Hon. Candace Andersen, District 2  

Elect Hon. Diane Burgis, District 3 

Elect Hon. Anamarie Avila Farias, District 5 


Alameda County, 18th Assembly District

Re-elect Sharon Ball* for the Alameda County Democratic Central Committee


City Council

Re-elect Elisa Marquez*  

Elect Matt McGrath  

Support:  Measure C:  Hayward Votes Together, increases voter turnout and saves the city money! 

Support:  Measure D:  Maintain vital city services, extends current utility tax, no tax increase


South Bay

Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors

Re-elect Supervisor Cindy Chavez

Re-elect Supervisor Dave Cortese

Re-elect Supervisor Joe Simitian

San Jose City Council

Elect Sergio Jimenez, District 2 

Elect Helen Chapman and Erik Fong, District 6 

Elect Josh Barousse, District 8 

Support:  Measure B – Maintain quality services for San Jose residents, ¼ cent sales tax call


San Francisco

Elect Hon. Jane Kim for CA State Senate, District 11

Elect Jo Elias Jackson* and Francis Hseih* for SF Democratic Central Committee  

Elect Supervisors Mark Farrell, Malia Cohen and London Breed for SF Democratic Central Committee  

Elect Reform the Democratic Party – Slate of candidates for the SF Democratic Central Committee

(List below)


Support: Proposition A: Public Health and Safety Bond

Oppose:  Proposition B: Ballot box budgeting

Support: Proposition C: 25% of new housing must be affordable

Support: Proposition D: Civilian Investigation of all Police involved shootings

Support: Proposition E: Paid Sick Leave, technical changes


San Francisco Democratic Party

Elect Reform Candidates for SF Democratic County Central Committee, Assembly District 19

·         Hon. Brigitte Davila – SF City College Trustee, SFSU professor in La Raza studies, AFT Local 2121 (brigittedavila.com)

·         Hon. Sandra Fewer-SF School Board member (sandrafewer.com)

·         Hene Kelly- incumbent, retired teacher (

·         Leah LaCroix 

·         Hon. Eric Mar-Incumbent, District 1 Supervisor

·         Myrna Melgar- Building Inspection Commissioner

·         Hon. Norman Yee-District 7 Supervisor, former School Board member


Elect Reform Candidates for SF Democratic County Central Committee, Assembly District 17

·         Alysabeth Alexander- VP of Politics for SEIU 1021

·         Hon. Tom Ammiano-Former State Assemblymember, former Supervisor

·         Hon. David Campos-Incumbent, District 9 Supervisor

·         Petra DeJesus – incumbent, Police Commissioner, civil rights attorney

·         Hon. Bevan Dufty- Incumbent, former District 8 Supervisor

·         Jon Golinger-attorney, waterfront & land use activist,

·         Dr. Pratima Gupta-OB/GYN, medical director

·         Frances Hsieh*, former Aide to Carole Migden & Fiona Ma, IFPTE Local 21 member

·         Hon. Jane Kim-District 6 Supervisor

·         Hon. Rafael Mandelman*-Incumbent, City College Trustee, IFPTE Local 21 member

·         Hon. Sophie Maxwell-former District 10 Supervisor

·         Hon. Aaron Peskin-District 3 Supervisor

·         Wade Woods-former editor of SF Post, African-American community activist

·         Cindy Wu-Planning Commissioner

·         Hon. John Burton, Chair, CA Democratic Party, former Assemblyman and Senator


Titles for identification purposes only.

If you have any questions or want to volunteer please contact Rachel Richman, Policy and Political Director at rrichman@ifpte21.org  For more information visit www.ifpte21.org/content/political-action


*Current or former Local 21 members