Local 21 Executive Officer Election

The International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers Local 21, AFL‑CIO

Hereby Notifies Its Membership of Upcoming

Executive Committee Officer Elections

August – November 2012


Election of IFPTE Local 21 Executive Offices will occur this Fall 2012. Eligible Local 21 members may be nominated by the Nominating Committee or petition to declare their candidacy as provided in Local 21’s Bylaws (Article XIII, Section B).

Ballots will be mailed to all members in good standing on Monday, November 8th and must be returned by 5:00 pm on Monday, November 29th.

Elections will be held for the following IFPTE Local 21Executive Committee Offices:

  • President

  • Executive Vice President

  • Vice President for San Francisco*

  • Vice President  for  the East Bay*

  • Vice President for Oakland*

  • Vice President for the South Bay*

  • Vice President for Membership & Organization

  • Vice President for Legislative and Political Action

  • Vice President At-Large

  • Secretary

  • Treasurer

*          Please note that candidacy and voting for regional Vice President Offices are restricted to eligible Local 21 members from chapters in specific cities, counties or geographic areas as defined in the Local 21 Union Officer Election Guidelines.

Only regular members “in good standing” are eligible to run for Local 21 office and vote in Local 21 elections. “Regular members” include any professional, technical, administrative or managerial employees who work within a bargaining unit represented by IFPTE Local 21and are members of Local 21. Associate Members and those who have withdrawn their membership from Local 21 may not declare candidacy or vote in any Local 21 election.

Members who are not in good standing, and therefore not eligible to run for office and/ or vote, include those who have not paid dues for a period of three (3) months, or have been suspended or expelled from membership after appropriate proceedings in conformity with the Constitution of the International Union.

Please contact Local 21’s office if you have any question regarding your membership and eligibility to run for office and vote.

A regular member in good standing may declare candidacy in one of two ways:

1)      Nomination by Local 21’s Nominating Committee

The seven‑member Nominating Committee nominates at least one eligible candidate for each office.  If you are interested in running for an office and would like to contact the Nominating Committee please email Nominate@ifpte21.org.   

2)      Member’s Petition for Candidacy for Office

An eligible candidate must obtain no less than 20 signatures (and identifying information) from regular members in good standing and deliver the petition to the Elections Committee Chair no later than close of business on Wednesday, October 10, 2012.  A candidate filing through the petition option is responsible for ensuring that all signatories on the candidate’s petition are regular members in good standing before submitting an original version to the Elections Committee Chair c/o the San Francisco Local 21 Office. Candidates for any of the regional Vice President positions are restricted to signatures and identifying information from regular members in good standing from that particular region as defined by the Local 21 Union Officer Election Guidelines.

Please refer to the Calendar for Union Officer Election – 2012, Local 21 Union Officer Election Guidelines, and the International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers Local 21 Bylaws posted on the Local 21 website, www.ifpte21.org, for more detailed information regarding this election, and continuing information as it becomes available.  If you have any questions or concerns regarding the election please contact the Elections Committee at Elections@ifpte21.org. The Election Committee consists of the following Local 21 members: Tedman Lee, Chair, CCSF Engineers; Al Lujan, City of Oakland; Omar Cortez, City of Hayward; Dangkhoa Vo, SCCEAA; Gloria Lucas-Davis, CCSF Purchasers; Tim Carlisle, Contra Costa County.