Announcement of Nominating Committee Candidates for Executive Committee Officer Elections

The Elections Committee is pleased to announce the following candidates that were nominated by the Nominating Committee*. (It is the responsibility of the Nominating Committee to present a list of at least one nominee for each office.) 


  • Dean Coate

  • Gus Vallejo

Executive Vice President

  • Sue Guest

Vice President for San Francisco

  • Jo Elias Jackson

  • Rinaldi Wibowo

Vice President for the East Bay

  • Maurica Epperson

  • Cheryl Penick

Vice President for Oakland

  • Renee Sykes

Vice President for the South Bay

  • Ananth Prasad

Vice President for Membership & Organization

  • David Herring

  • Peter Luong

Vice President for Legislative and Political Action

  • Larry Griffin

Vice President At-Large

  • Eileen Housteau


  • Jenna Castro

  • Gloria Lucas Davis


  • Moses Corrette

Interested candidates can also declare their candidacy by submitting a petition, posted on the Local 21 website. An eligible candidate must obtain no less than 20 signatures (and identifying information) from regular members in good standing and deliver the petition to the Elections Committee Chair no later than close of business on Tuesday, October 10.

The final list of candidates will be announced by October 12, 2017.
**Executive Officers are expected to attend one Executive Committee meeting per month (currently held on the fourth Thursday of the month, 3:00 p.m. to approximately 7:00 p.m. rotating between East Bay, South Bay, and San Francisco).  While there is no stipend associated with these positions, officers are reimbursed for their travel expenses to attend the monthly meeting, and the union will pay their salary (“lost wages”) for the time they spend traveling to/attending the meeting.
For detailed information regarding this election please view the Local 21 Union Officer Election page. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact the Election Committee at
*Nominating Committee Members (Joseph Thoppil, Committee Chair, Remi Awosanya,Nancy Benavides, Damon Curtis, Michelle Langlie, Dwight Williams)